Facebook messenger introdu… (this message was deleted)
Messages sent to the wrong person. An auto-correct, correcting too far or a message sent in a moment of anger. It’s happened to the best of us. No more! We’ll all soon have the ability to un-send a message within 10 minutes of being sent.
The update has been officially announced in the patch notes of the upcoming ‘Messenger’ update which reads “Coming soon: Remove a message from a chat thread after it’s been sent. If you accidentally send the wrong photo, incorrect information or message the wrong thread, you can easily correct it by removing the message within ten minutes of sending it.”
Facebook’s WhatsApp has had this feature for a year now, which was originally rolled out with a 7 minute window to delete from both ends, which has since been increased to an hour. It is not yet clear as why messenger is set to a 10-minute window, or if it will display “this message was deleted”. Nevertheless, users and businesses alike can now rejoice.
Read more here